7 Common Spiritual Symbols And Their Meanings

Symbols are one of the amazing things that can leave a strong psychological impression in our minds just from their appearance. Here are 7 commonly used spiritual symbols and their meanings.

7 Common Spiritual Symbols And Their Meanings

Spiritual Symbols are fantastic things that can leave a strong psychological impression in our minds just from their appearance.

Just by looking at some symbols, we feel love. While others, we feel darkness just from being in their presence.

The list of symbols with spiritual significance is endless, but here are 7 commonly used spiritual symbols and their meanings.

1) The Hamsa


Hamsa is the Arabic word for “five” and represents the five digits of the hand. The Hamsa is the universal sign of protection and is often combined with the Evil Eye to ward off anyone who wants to harm you. According to the history of this symbol, if anyone looks at you with evil intentions while you are carrying this symbol, they will be unable to cause you harm.

2) The Tree of Life


The TreeGarden of life has been represented by many different cultures and religions worldwide. For example, in Christianity, it is seen as the tree in the garden of Eden that Adam and Eve picked the forbidden fruit.

Generally, the Tree of Life is seen as having a connection between the earth's elements (earth, wind, air, and fire) and represents the infinite connection of all things in creation.

3) The Flower of Life

One of the main symbols of sacred geometry, the Flower of Life, is seen to contain all of the patterns of creation within it. It consists of 7 or more overlapping symbols. The flower of life dates back to almost every ancient culture and is considered one of the sacred formations that creation arose from.

4) The Yin Yang

Yin Yang. A cozy picture in calm warm colors. The symbol is richly decorated with flowers and abstract lines. ■ (RUS) Инь-Ян. Уютная картина в спокойных теплых тонах. Символ богато декорирован цветами и абстрактными линиями.
Photo by Дмитрий Хрусталев-Григорьев / Unsplash

This sign represents the harmonization of duality. It signifies the unity between masculine and feminine energies. The yin yang is a spiritual reminder that balance between the light and the darkness provides the most holistic approach to living a meaningful life. The universe abides by the law of balance.

5) The Lotus Flower


A significant spiritual symbol in Buddhism and several other religions, the lotus is generally seen as a sign of enlightenment. The lotus flower has grown out of the dark, muddy water of materialism to open its petals to the sunshine of enlightenment.

This symbol represents the journey out of darkness and into transformation. It also signifies the importance of detachment, as water droplets slide easily off the pedals.

6) The Ankh


This is a well-known ancient Egyptian symbol of life. The ankh essentially looks like a cross but with a loop for the top arm. Its meaning is a bit debatable, but the most accepted definition of the symbol is that it symbolizes eternal life and regeneration. It was often used in funerals and tombs in ancient Egypt. Today, people usually carry it as a sign of life and spiritual wisdom.

7) The Pentacle


This symbol is often used in the Wiccan religion and is essentially a five sided pentagram with a circle around it. This symbol is believed to be a protection against evil.

The top point represents the spirit, while the other four represent the four elements.

Article reference: thespiritscience